Built: 1898
Style: Tudor
Rooms: 12+
Baths: 2 Full  2 Half
Garage: 2 Car
Approx: 3,600 Sq. Ft.

7 room converted carriage house on grounds.

 

Updated 10-29-2001


        A Home for All Seasons ...
.

 

VISIT
HILLSIDE WEBSITE

 HISTORIC REGISTER PAGES FOR 
185 PINE STREET

ABOUT THE
ARCHITECT
FOR THIS HOUME

HISTORIC REGISTER
PAGES FOR
CARRIAGE HOUSE
28 TROWBRIDGE ST.

CARRIAGE HOUSE
(STABLE)
BLUEPRINTS
1908

ORIGINAL STABLE
CONSTRUCTION
CONTRACT
1908

START THIS HOUSE TOUR AGAIN

 

 

Reynolds Residence
185 Pine Street
Waterbury, Connecticut 06710

This home was custom designed by renowned architect Wilfred Griggs and completed in 1898 for Charles Grannis.
The tasteful, elaborate and unique detailing is reflected in the extensive moldings, cornices and extraordinary featuring such as the grand open stairwell, marble fireplaces and unique library windows and leaded bookcases.
This home is truly "One of a Kind"
The House awakens each morning to the brightness of a Connecticut sunrise...
The home has had only three owners, Charles Grannis, Wilfred Theroux and since 1946, the current resident, Dr. & Mrs. Joseph A. Reynolds.

This English style Tudor dwelling remains basically intact architecturally throughout, both interior and exterior.

The original slate roof has been well maintained throughout the century and remains intact to this day.

The meticulously maintained yard has been professionally landscaped throughout the life of the home, and retains a number of original plantings.

This home is a contributing structure of the Hillside Historic District and listed in the National Register of Historic Places as a contributing structure of historical significance.

 

South and East View

High on the hill


Ivy covered walls

The home is shaded throughout the summer months by Split Maples, Elms and Pines.

North and West View

Nestled by trees of white, a freshly fallen winter's snow blankets the roof of slate and shrubbery shivering at the gate.

Front View

Continue with the House Tour - Click here